09/12/17 | Three Weeks of College

Hey what’s up? It’s been a while… almost three weeks…

So a lot has happened since the last time I posted. I figured not many people aside from family and friends read this so I’ll actually go into more detail now hahaha.

For starters, I joined Akbayan, Japanese Student Society, and Circle K.

Secondly, I made one friend in two of my classes; so two new friends from my classes. And then two friends tonight at this dance thing.

Classes/My School Schedule

My classes have been manageable thus far. My PHIL class has been okay, I do the readings due each class, we talk about it (basically, our lectures are just reading from the book… which is kind of annoying because then I get bored in class since I already know what we’re talking about — and because its at freaking 9am). I have my first quiz (first college quiz ever woooo!!!) tomorrow for PHIL. I honestly do not feel ready for it even though I did all the readings and attend every class. I think it’s mainly just because it will be my first quiz in college and I don’t know what to expect. (Well I do. Kind of. Because the professor told us. But still.) But yeah! I’ve only had two homework assignments for PHIL (aside from the daily readings) and we now have our first paper due on the 25th. I need to get on that.

My next class is MAS (a public speaking course focused on Mexican American studies). I already had to give my first speech last Wednesday which I prepared for the night before. That must be a bad habit of mine because for as long as I can remember, I’ve always prepared for my speeches the night before I have to present them. My professor emailed the class the night before (at like 11pm) reminding us about the speech and about his office hours; in case we wanted to practice on him and get feedback before class. I worked up the courage to email him and I asked him if I could come in during the start of his office hours to practice (so that if I had anything to fix I’d have more time to fix it because again, he emailed us the night before… so we were going in for office hours and practicing an hour before class started). I went in and gave my speech and he was basically like “that’s good there’s nothing to fix what are you worried about?” Which gave me a confidence boost but at the same time I knew it wasn’t that good so I was like “why ain’t he tellin’ me how to improve?” Also, when I gave my speech in class I did mess up, but whatever it was just the first speech.

My third class is the class I have trouble staying awake in every time: ARTH. I still have yet to skip class which is good!! I’m attending class!! We have daily readings in this class too, and we are expected to memorize certain images and their designer and things like that which is tough. I almost always knock out because there are so many people the professor can’t really see me, it’s hot in the room (only fans/no AC), and because the lights are always dimmed so we can see the presentation. So I started playing on my phone in that class even though none of these classes allow electronics. Hehehe college rebel.

My fourth class (first class on TR) has been one of the most memorable despite its slow pace. It is my global warming class. I think it’s the most interesting because we spend the first half of class discussing and watching videos of recent events in the climate (like hurricane harvey or irma). It is also the only class that allows electronics. The professor is also pretty chill and loves what he does which is always nice. I realized it was one of my more memorable classes because while my friends and I were walking around and talking about things, I’d be like “oh thats blablabla/aka thing I learned from class.” Also, one of my classmates in this class is joining Circle K too, so maybe new friend?

My last class is intro to comparative politics. At first I thought this class was going to be pretty bearable, but then there was one day that made me realize it would be weird. That one day, the professor asked if there were any questions and one girl raised her hand and was like “why is the presentation not in full screen presenter view?” (because he just had the power point open and was going from there). And he was explaining how it wasn’t working with the projector at the moment and everything and the girl straight up went up to his laptop, nudged him aside, and started messing with it (to try to fix it). I was so surprised! “That’s the professor’s laptop! We are in the middle of class and this is taking up class time!” Those sorts of thoughts ran through my head. After that incident, he has always had his slideshows in presenter/full screen mode so it hasn’t been an issue. However, again, this class’s lectures are basically things I wrote down when I was doing the assigned reading, so class gets pretty boring. Today though we watched a 42 minute video! Apparently someone in our class is a visual learner or something so he needs to do less lectures and more pictures/videos. I approve. It makes it more fun for me haha.

Extracurriculars

Outside of classes, I hang out with my friends a lot. That does unfortunately mean paying for more food, but that will probably stop soon and we’ll all just pack lunches and hang out. Like I mentioned earlier, I also joined a few clubs/organizations on campus. One of which is Akbayan, or the Pilipino club at school. It has been super fun. Big time commitment though. Today they had three different things going on that we were trying to go to so I didn’t end up getting home until around 11pm. One of those things was a dance class because they’re performing at a big event in October. I went because I want to learn how to dance. I really, really wish I could dance. Unfortunately, I have re-learned that I am slow at learning dances and memorizing them. It was pretty embarrassing. Nonetheless, it was fun and I’m glad I went. Hopefully, my friend and I will continue going (despite it being a big time commitment).

The other club I mentioned was the Japanese Student Society. I went to their welcome meeting by myself which was a big step for me since I have been doing everything else with other friends. It was slightly awkward at first because I got there early, so I was just standing outside with my earbuds in, leaning against a wall until they were ready. Additionally, it seemed like everyone there spoke Japanese. I do not. It was really overwhelming and I honestly felt out of place; I wanted to leave. Eventually, I found myself a seat at the end of a row and sat down. There were these really nice Japanese exchange students who came and sat next to me closer to when the meeting started, too. They were super friendly and a couple of them even said I looked like a Japanese model named Shelly. Needless to say, one of the girls took selfies with me during the icebreaker portions of the meeting. I’m proud of myself for going and sticking through with the meeting even though I was by myself.

Lastly, I dragged one of my friends with me to the Circle K meeting tonight. Not going to lie, it was incredibly boring. It was also a little unorganized and clique. Like the people who knew the board or had been in the club before were more exclusive, and the people who had never been stuck with their friends or stayed quiet by themselves. I had a lot of energy by the time we got to the meeting and I was trying to hype it up by clapping more and speaking up/cheering for people. I feel bad though because I sassed this one guy multiple times. I honestly didn’t mean to be rude, I was just joking around/saying what I was trying to say. Like one time, he asked if we were going to go to an event and I was like “mm maybe” or “we’ll see” that sort of thing. This guy was an officer too! And one of the more energetic (which is really not saying much) people too! Anyways, that meeting was rough and I was glad to be out of it. I will probably still join just so I can volunteer here and there and meet up with friends in other schools’ CKIs.

 

Also, just adding on to the whole extracurricular thing, I’m going to apply for a job at a boba place a block from campus. I am aiming to work on the weekends since Akbayan and Japanese Student Society and have things on weekdays, but we shall see. I was not going to get a job my first semester just because I wanted to see how well I could balance my schedule and everything, but I really do need the money if I want to do anything outside of going to school and eating and sleeping.

 

General Life Update

More of my friends have gone off to their respective colleges now. I have cried on multiple occasions, but I know I will see them soon and I have confidence we will keep in touch and remain friends.

I miss my friends a lot. I go back home almost every weekend, but I usually end up staying with or hanging out with my boyfriend the most. I wish my friends would come visit me!!! I love my boyfriend a ton and the only time we have together is during the weekends, and even then it may only be one day. It makes me so sad because this is his (and my other friends’) last weekends at home before he leaves for his school. Which is also why I’m applying for that job — because I won’t have anything to do during the weekends after he leaves.

Of course, I miss my family too! I could go back every weekend to visit my family instead of getting a job, but my family knows I need my space and independence. I need to learn how to be an independent grown up now, while I still have their support to lean on. They know that. They know I don’t avoid them. I do wish my sister would talk to me more about her days or whatever she’s doing, but this is her most stressful year (and that’s saying a lot because she’s always stressed about school). I know my Dad has his own plans and concerns to deal with right now. Plus, I actually do text my Dad quite often so I feel like I haven’t really left him. Lastly, my Mom has invited me over for movie nights or whatever but I always have plans so that hasn’t worked out. So please, don’t get me wrong, I do in fact love my family. I just need space to grow up on my own too. To my family reading this: I love you guys! Invite me over for more stuff and I’ll probably decline, but it warms my heart and maybe one of these times I’ll actually be available.

Roommate Drama Update

I got into a text argument with the one roommate who has the big room and car space last week and it ended with a “we’ll talk about this all together back at the apartment.” Never happened. Except tonight I did mention that I was in a bad mood and I’m sorry for coming off too strong, however I did mean what I said so hopefully we can be friends and work something out. This whole ride situation really needs to be discussed and everything because tonight the other roommate with a car was supposed to pick me up from the dance thing at 10:30pm, and she bailed on me because she forgot and made other plans (so that first roommate picked me up).

Other than that, nothing too new. Minuscule, petty things here and there. Quite honestly, it’s almost midnight and I’m super exhausted so that’s also why I’m just summarizing. I just felt the need to update the blog and y’all about my life and what’s happening. I love hearing about your lives too so talk to me!!! Half the time, in between my classes, I sit by myself in the student union watching Netflix because I have nothing else to do!

 

Hope everyone’s living good, fun lives and making the most of this funky weather! ❤

 

Leave a comment